10 hours of my project down, and I’m not sure what to do with it. My project involves cataloguing the rare books down in Special Collections. It is my job to aid in getting the books marked up on the database so that they can be found by the staff and students (or members of the public) who wish to browse them when they come into Special Collections. So far, I have created several databases for various books (I say various, only one of them was not of a religious nature!) and I have photographed the books as I have catalogued them. I am also in the process of contributing a weekly (minimum) blog post for the Rare Books blog about my experiences, and any interesting pieces that I find in the collection.

It’s fabulous, and I am enjoying every second of it. But hearing what everyone else is doing for their projects, I can’t help but feel that mine is a little aimless and boring. There is no point to mine, no narrative or argument to pursue. When my portfolio is finished, it will simply be an amalgamation of pictures of old books and some computer databases. Is it really enough? Is there even anything I can do at this point to introduce another aspect to my project? I guess I will have to wait and see.

In the meantime, I will continue cataloguing, and researching the important questions, like just what is a Sabbatarian anyway??

 

 

Credit for the image goes to Cardiff Special Collections and Rare Books

